Who’s Who

I’ve hit a dry patch, lately.

Not that I ever run out of things to say, or that I tire of an audience, ever. Even if the faithful are just a handful of beautiful kooks, I am honored and grateful to serve you my brain from time to time. Indeed, you are all most patient. I suppose that the real gravy of life resides in the changing seasons. As a child, I feared them. As an adult, I fought them. But I would just as well fight the tide or charge the wind. Tides will roll and winds will blow no matter how desperately we flail about, swinging our fists and ranting.

The mind of man plans his way,
But the LORD directs his steps.   Proverbs 16: 9

Fighting God is useless, and really, why do I want to? Why do I think my way is better than His?

8 “For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD.
9 “For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
So are My ways higher than your ways
And My thoughts than your thoughts.   Isaiah 55: 8,9

Obviously, He has a much better perspective on things. As I look back on my life and consider all of the plans that I have had for myself and compare them to what He is offering to me now, well, there is no comparison. Had I the power to change anything about where I’ve been, where I am, or where I’m going, I can honestly say that I wouldn’t change a thing. If life has taught me nothing else, it has taught me this one great truth. Who I am, is who He made me to be and my job is to be that who.

Leave a Reply

