Wolverine Rocks

Live like you’re dying.

That’s a very popular little quip, lately. I see it on shirts and plaques, hear it on the radio, read it at the book store and on the internet. Give me a break.

What is the essence of such a sentiment? What is the greatest hindrance to my quality of life that keeps me from living it to the fullest? What prevents me from really grabbing the gusto? Hmmm. Ok, here’s my proposal: fear of man. Churchie people know what I’m talking about, right away. We discuss it among ourselves from time to time. Of course, this doesn’t mean that I’m afraid of people as much as it suggests that I am afraid of what people may or may not think…..about me. You get it.

Back to the original statement; live like you’re dying. If I’m dying, I probably don’t give a flying flip what anybody thinks about me or anything else. There’s no time for that. Isn’t that why we all love Wolverine from the X Men? For those of you who aren’t acquainted with this particular comic book character, Wolverine, aka Logan, is basically immortal. He has the power to instantly heal from any injury. In the stories, he’s lived for several hundred years and he’s over it. He’s been creeping around long enough to realize that what other people think means exactly doodlie squat. He does what he wants and says what he wants with little to no concern over the thoughts or opinions of those around him. Awesome. In his case, time is irrelevant. Either way, time and one’s perspective of it, seem to be major factors. I wonder why that is?

Maybe it has something to do with our perception of what we think we have or what think we stand to lose, based on this flimsy criteria. It could be wealth or position, or something more personal like self-esteem or self-worth. The man who’s dying has nothing to lose, neither does the man who cannot die. As Christians, is it not true that we are both dying to our fleshly desires and immortal in Christ? In a spiritual sense it would appear that we have nothing to lose. Worldly concerns should hold very little interest to us. As the people of the Light, we are far more concerned in seeking that which is lost, that which holds its value in terms of the eternal.

11 in God I trust and am not afraid.
   What can man do to me?  Psalm 56: 11

This is a very good question. If I truly believe that Abba is in complete control and that all things are subject to Him, what do I care what you think of me? Disclaimer: Remember, all things being done in love, or else they are worthless, (1Corinthians 13). That being said, my actions should reflect my beliefs. Why do I feel the need to conceal from my brothers what is fully known to God? It’s like the little girl playing hide and seek, pulling her skirt up over her head thinking that if she can’t see you, then you can’t see her. Just because I hide the truth of who and what I am from my brothers, do I think that I am fooling God, as well? If I’m straight with Him, do my brothers deserve any less? What’s the worst thing that could happen? I look foolish, I am ridiculed, I am ostracized, I am punished, I am killed? If my account with Abba is settled, what do I care what happens to me? I don’t know many people who live as though they held this belief to be true, myself included.

Anyone could take the above argument to any number of extremes. Please don’t. It all goes over my head after that. All I know, is that I experience a tremendous sense of relief in just being me in front of my brothers and sisters, God and everybody. Pretending is hard, especially when the game takes over. We’re older, now, and wearing our big girl panties. No more hide and seek.

Leave a Reply

