How’s Your Butt?

Why did it take so long to see this?

Look at your life and all the things that you’re into right now. It could be  family, career, church, (which, for some, is a career), whatever. What are you pouring the best part of yourself into at this point in your life? Now, what are the life tools that you are using to achieve success in these endeavors? You may think that you’re just flying by the seat of your pants, right? That’s what my precious step dad used to tell me when he was teaching me how to drive. He told me to drive by the seat of my pants. Even though I was sixteen years old, I had no idea what he was talking about. I kept trying to gauge my speed by how my butt felt in the seat. You may not think that you have a system of doing things, but you do. Everybody does. Some systems work and some don’t. Some people seem to get the big picture, and some are totally butt focused.

I’ve been butt focused for most of my life. So have most of you. What we use to navigate this wilderness of an existence are the handful of tools that we picked up along the way, early on. Even when they don’t work, we keep on using them just the same. It doesn’t seem fair, does it? Some of us were set up with a fully functioning workshop full of state-of-the-art equipment, and some of us were handed a paperclip and a gum wrapper before we were kicked out into society. Strange, isn’t it? A lot of times, the workshop guy gets lost in his own schematic while the paperclip guy ends up running wall street.

My point? Where’s your focus? I’ll tell you where mine has been for the last forty or so years. I’ve been completely sold on the idea that what other people think of me is the truth about who I am. My home, my children, my friends, my marriage, my perceived spirituality, all of these things and more have been set out on display for the world to observe and evaluate.

11 Yet when I surveyed all that my hands had done
   and what I had toiled to achieve,
everything was meaningless, a chasing after the wind;
   nothing was gained under the sun.   Ecclesiastes 2:11

Bummer. Now what? There are some who will read this and think it the ramblings of a middle aged woman approaching menopause and they are correct for doing so. Indeed, that’s about the size of it. But there may be a few who will take a minute and consider where I might be coming from. This is for you guys. Today, take a moment to really consider where you’ve been sowing your oats. Do a little inventory. Is it working out for you? Are you blessed and are you a blessing? How are you sleeping? Are the things that you’re toiling to achieve bringing you real happiness and pleasure or is it meaningless, a chasing after the wind?

37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”   Matthew 22:37-40

Love God and love each other. Everything else is bullshit.

Leave a Reply

