There’s No Place Like Home

I know, I know, I haven’t posted since Thursday. I’ve missed you, too.

We’re still talking about Love, that it is Abba’s very nature, and that we understand so little about it. We’re looking at verse 6 from 1 Corinthians 13:

4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. I’ve been asking one question of myself and of God, over and over for the last ten years. What is the truth? I’ve asked Him many times to show me the truth. I have gone down numerous delusional paths in my life and I know that they all lead to the same tragic conclusion, destruction of myself or others or both. Unlike love, the truth can be extremely painful. But while truth exposes the lie that has been told to us, or that we tell ourselves, love leads us out of the prison that the lie has kept us in. Truth shows us where we’ve been, Love shows us where we’re going. If we live in our prisons too long, we begin to fear freedom. That’s the pain of it. Now it’s time to choose.

Some people believe that following the Way means following rules and rituals. They think that it’s a long list of don’t’s and can’t’s and shouldn’t’s. I know because that’s the prison I’ve been in for some time. That’s why we get mad at God when He doesn’t do us favors or He allows something difficult to invade our mellow. “Hey! You up there! I’ve been toting the line. I’ve tithed and taught Sunday School and given up smoking and cussing and drinking..where’s mine? I did for you, God, now You do for me!” God is love and Love rejoices with the truth. Abba knows that it’s not about deserving or earning. If that were the case, His love wouldn’t be free. He offers Himself and His love freely, no strings attached, no points, no do’s, no don’t’s. He gives and we receive.

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.   John 14:6

This is not a rule, this is a direction. The way to freedom lies through the open door of Christ’s willing, loving way. I don’t have to do anything but say, ‘yes’. He’s done everything else. He made the way back to love. Truth shows us how lost we are and love leads us home.

Love will always promote the well-being of another over itself. Always.

Leave a Reply

