Now You’re Messin’ With…….

I am no authority on love.

Neither is anybody else, so I’m certain that I won’t be moving outside of my depth. As you know, I’ve been thinking quite a bit about love, lately, and the lessons learned so far have been nothing short of astounding. What awes me the most is how little any of us knows, even when it is laid out plainly before us everyday. Like air, it moves all around us. I have come to believe that it is the most powerful of elements, the basic ingredient that holds the universe together. Dare I say……the force? I digress. Indeed, Love called the universe into being and Love made everything in it, including you and me. Love is the author and generator of everything that is, of life itself. Having said that, let’s look at what we consider to be love.

“Love hurts, love scars, love wounds and mars.” ~Nazareth, “Hair of the Dog”    This was a popular rock song from a popular rock album when I was a kid. This pretty much sums up what most of us think about love, here in the first world. I beg to differ. Love has gotten a bad rap. Check it:

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  1 Corinthians 13:4-7

Hmmmm. Should I believe popular culture or an ancient text that manages to remain on the best seller list, some two thousand years after it was first penned? Right or wrong, something must be ringing true with somebody.

Love is patient, love is kind.  Well, there it is, in a nutshell. When I profess love, do I practice all that is patient and kind? Again, hmm. When I am confronted by weariness, anger, fear or pain in another person or in myself, what is my first response? Me first; must self-protect. Have we ever apologized to someone that we claim to love like this? “I’m sorry that I snapped, shouted, etc. (insert overreaction here), but……I was tired, I was hurt, etc. (insert excuse here).” Of course, everybody has and I’m all for saying, ‘sorry’. Next time, though, let’s leave the justification out of it. The truth is, I overreacted because I wasn’t moving in love, I was acting out of weariness, anger, fear, or pain; aka, self-interest. Nobody’s perfect, but let’s try to be more aware of what we’re handing out everyday to those who mean the most to us.

Love will always promote the well-being of another over itself. Always.

This is a big subject, so I’ll work on it a little more for tomorrow. Hey! My first series!

Leave a Reply

