Baby Did A Bad, Bad Thing

I love Chris Isaak’s stuff. I like to call it ‘Music to Stalk By’.

He uses that velvet voice to croon about feelings that have run completely amuck, smashing through everything that seems right and wholesome, plowing through to the nitty gritty, the truth, the heart of the matter. There are no manners, here. There are no boundaries, no rules, and certainly no dignity. I’m talking about, of course, love.

Lots of people shy away from the storm and with good reason. I recently had a full face encounter and it took a few weeks of wallowing, not to mention an hour and a half of sincere intervention to pull me back to my senses. Thank God for the big-hearted maniacs who call themselves my friends. They are the bungee cords that keep me tethered to the bridge that I seem determined to continually fling myself off of. I can only hope that, for those of you who share my enthusiasm for emotional adventure, there is a similar safety net.

I don’t know why I insist on fighting the reality of who I am or of who I was made to be. Why must I argue with God about everything? Why do I have the need to punish others for loving me? I do not question His love for me, so why do I question my love for Him? Why do I think that something so small as myself or my circumstance could ever have the ability to resist the very source of my existence? He trusts me, why can I not trust myself? That’s what it really boils down to. God is love and love trusts.

Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  I Corinthians 13:6-8

He trusts His own creation. He trusts me. If I cannot trust myself does that mean that God is a liar? It is true that mankind has proved himself untrustworthy on countless occasions. Does that mean that God is stupid? If my body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, then God’s trust is well founded. He trusts my capacity to understand and do what is right. God believes in me.

Now my mind is racing, going over a thousand sermons and teaching seminars based on loving God, surrendering to God, trusting God, believing, serving, submitting. God calls us His friends. We’re His friends.

I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.     John 15:15

Loving, serving, trusting, these are things that friends do for one another. My friends love me enough to tell me the truth, or at least, the truth as well as they can discern it. I love them enough to listen, and to trust in their concern for my welfare. Abba calls me friend. I am not equal to God, but I receive His gift of friendship with the understanding that it goes both ways. Deserving has nothing to do with anything. I love Him because He loves me. He loves me because He cannot deny who He is and He is love. Wow, it’s like the water cycle.

Being faithful means taking the good and the bad and making the most of it. It means climbing outside of myself once in a while and taking a look around at what I’ve got. It means giving it away and knowing that there will be more when I need it. It means trusting in God’s trust in me.

Leave a Reply

