Nice Boxers

I like my church to be a little on the strange side.

Did I say strange? Maybe I just meant different. Not long ago, I talked about how God never changes and how amazing that fact is. Recap: God has never been and never will be any more, or any less than HE IS. Sounds simple at first, but then you ponder it for a bit and see where it takes you. Right. Now, take that into consideration when contemplating this little gem.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD.   Isaiah 55:8

If God’s normal is different from mine, why is it that I think I can tell Him what He wants in a social? What exactly is God’s normal? The Jewish folks have a lot of names for Abba, all based upon different aspects of His nature. I’ve already mentioned one, in the second person, above. That’s what He calls Himself, I AM. He is referred to as Healer, Deliverer, Almighty, Savior, Lover, God with us, Councilor, Comforter, Lord of Hosts, Many Breasted One (one of my faves), Provider, Ancient of Days, it goes on and on.

And he passed in front of Moses, proclaiming, “The LORD, the LORD, the compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness,…   Exodus 34:6

I wonder why we have seen fit to confine such a One to a two hour show once a week. It seems a little……limited. There’s that word, again. Private joke. I think it’s because we don’t quite  know what to do with Him. It’s sort of like going to the funeral of someone you didn’t know very well. You’ve attended because you’re somewhat obligated. Maybe you wanted to support a close friend or relative, but you’ve had very little personal contact with the main attraction. Now you’re just standing around, trying to look serious, not knowing what to do with your hands. You feel like you should feel something or say something, but you’re not sure what. That’s what happens when you try to honor somebody that you don’t really know.

Compare this experience to the circus in my house. There are friends and family coming and going in a constant stream at all hours of the day and night. Honestly, I went to the bathroom the other night around 2:30 a.m., and there was a kid in my son’s room who, I’m fairly certain, wasn’t there when I went to bed. Whatever. It’s never quiet at my house. It’s rarely serious. I can say with certainty that there is no dress code. Does anybody wear regular pants, anymore? Boxers, tighties, pajamas, we got plenty. The rule around here? Pants are for squares.

Abba’s house should be like that. To know Him is to love Him and to love Him is to know that He welcomes all comers, anytime, anywhere, just as you are. He’s always been like that and He never changes. He only has one house rule, that we love Him and love each other. After that, anything goes. Well, you might want to put on some pants.

Leave a Reply

