Pick Your Switch

As some of you may know, I have a thing for King David.

He lived an outrageously large life, didn’t he? If you want action and adventure, please, for me, read first and second Samuel. You won’t be disappointed. It’s no wonder that Abba adored him. He fought to the death and he loved with his whole being. He didn’t do anything half way. But the thing that I admire the most about him was how he trusted in his God.

I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.” Psalm 91:2

He wasn’t just a lot of talk, either. He put that trust to the test, time and time again, and God always had his back.

When I look over the brief mist of my life, there is never a time that God has failed to love, to forgive, or to protect me. One of my favorite moments from David’s life is when he leans on God’s justice, even when it is coming down on his own head. Can you believe it? 2Samuel 24 says that God was mad at Israel so He incited David into counting the fighting men. What’s that about? This was a moment when it appears that David didn’t trust God, that he was figuring up his own strength. God had proved many times that man power didn’t make a difference one way or the other, when you came right down to it. When God said, ‘win’, you won and when God said, ‘lose’, you lost. After David did this wrong thing, he was feeling pretty bad about it so God sent a prophet named Gad, to give David three choices for his punishment. I guess it was kind of like picking out your switch. These are three of the worst choices, ever.

1. Three years of famine.

2. Three months of fleeing from your enemies.

3. Three days of plague.

Dig this:   David said to Gad, “I am in deep distress. Let us fall into the hands of the LORD, for his mercy is great; but do not let me fall into human hands.”   2Samuel 24:14

That, my friends, is trust. A lot of people died, but in the end, David was right about God. Abba was merciful and couldn’t bear to finish the deed. He gave David an out.

Sometimes, David could be a real bonehead. I can relate to that. His heart was forever rushing in before his head could see where he was going. I can relate to that, too. The world is full of empty promises that I am more than liable, at any given moment, to embrace. But they all leave me a little worse than they found me, wondering where the hell I went wrong. That’s when God says, “Get up.” God is love, (1John 4:8), and love keeps no record of wrongs, (1Corinthians 13:5). He brushes off my pants, wipes away my tears and tells me it will be alright.

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.  1John 1:9

Alright?

Leave a Reply

