Where Did We Park?

My cousin posted a very cool vid promoting National Back To Church Sunday on September 18, 2011. This is the first I had heard of such a thing. He gave a brief disclaimer above it, recommending that “you need to be careful about which church you attend, because many churches would not fit well with the theology in this video”. I’d like to discuss this ‘theology’.

It talks about forgiveness and acceptance. It states that dress codes and money aren’t important. It promises that church is a place to make relationships where you will not be judged, but where you will be loved. Would somebody please tell me what ‘theology’ we’re talking about here?

“Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.   Luke 6:37

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.   Luke 12:34

“And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin.   Matthew 6:28

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”    John 13:34,35

I know that I tend to oversimplify things, but come on, now. I didn’t see one thing in that video that was not supported overwhelmingly by the very words of Christ, Himself. Theology, schmeology. God’s way doesn’t make a lot of sense to us. We try to help Him jazz it up, a little. That’s called religion. If we pay money, we want a show. Money’s not important to Abba, everything belongs to Him, anyway. Clothes don’t matter to Him, either. His biggest supporters were either humbly dressed or naked, altogether. Look it up. Here’s how Jesus summed it all up.

He answered, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’ ; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ ”   Luke 10:27

There it is. That should be our theology. Everything else is high maintenance fluff, smoke and mirrors. People aren’t stupid, they’re just hurting. They know when they’re getting handed a load of crap. Don’t we get enough of that out there, in the world? Jesus showed us how to do it. Love people. Talk to them, laugh with them, cry with them. Share a meal, tell a story, hold a child. That’s what church is about. Love God and love each other.

 

 

If you want to take a look at the video, visit my facebook page~I’d like to post it here on my blog, but they want money for that. Hmmm. I’ll have to talk to my special computer buddy about that one. Until then, just type in Connie Gazaway Holmes into a facebook search. If there’s another one with that name, I’m sure she’s worth checking out, too.

Leave a Reply

