OK, Who Pooped On The Bed?

What was that old commercial? Right, it was the Negro College Fund. I don’t think they call it that, anymore. They told us that a mind was a terrible thing to waste. It was a very poignant statement that has remained in popular culture, ever since.

It stuck with us because it is so true on so many different levels.

For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he…  Proverbs 23:7

I’ve been having a hard time with my thinker, lately. Being, at heart, a writer, you can be sure that I have a very active mind. Trust me, it is a great blessing, but when left unfettered, it can really get away from me. Thoughts and feelings that are birthed in the mind can give life to great and terrible things. Nations can rise and fall based on an idea that some guy gets while he’s sitting in jail, (and this has happened more than once). Human Beings wield a power far beyond our own comprehension, floating there, between our ears.

It is a difficult matter, harnessing and controlling such a wild thing. The more freedom it gets, the more it takes. How can I bring this thing to obedience when it plays in virtual space and cannot be restrained with human hands?

We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.  2Corinthians 10:5

I’ve read this verse all of my life, but standing back from it, a bit, it looks pretty hardcore. But then, taking control of that unruly beast is rather nasty business, isn’t it? I’ve been having the fight of my life, lately, and I can tell you quite frankly, that I’m covered in shit from head to toe. So, now what do I do? Let’s back up a little in chapter 10.

For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does.  The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds.  verses 3-4

To the best of my understanding, strongholds are the places where problems live in our minds. It’s where we keep our naughty pets. Brother Paul is using some fairly strong language, here. But then again, some of us harbor very naughty pets, indeed. It takes a great deal of effort and determination to tear down their houses and kick them out of our brains. It takes even more effort to keep them out, because they always come back, whining at the door. Bad thought, you’re a bad thought, yes you are.

Where’s my weapons? Here’s the big one, the one that gives you access to the whole armory:

Take up shield and armor; arise and come to my aid.  Brandish spear and javelin against those who pursue me. Say to me, “I am your salvation.” Psalm 35:2-3

     David is, of course, talking to Abba. Bad thoughts separate us from the Father and make us feel dirty or angry or unworthy. But He doesn’t see us that way, at all. If we have believed in His Son, when He looks at us, that’s who He sees. When we feel like running and hiding from Him is when He is the closest to us. He wants to save us. That’s what He does. I can reach for Him no matter how filthy I think I am, because Jesus makes me clean. I can tell the Son all the things that are in my heart and He translates it to Abba and Abba forgives.

but because Jesus lives forever, he has a permanent priesthood. Therefore he is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because he always lives to intercede for them. Hebrews 7:24-25

There are lots of weapons at my disposal at that point, too many to talk about in this little blog, today. Please read your Bible. I know you’ve got one, somewhere. I’ve been in mine, intensely, for a while now. Time is running short and God says it’s time to get rid of our pets. He’s right. Mine are eating me out of house and home. If we kick those little brutes out, Abba has some wonderful things in store for us, but we can’t have both. Hmmm, brute or bounty, brute or bounty?

Leave a Reply

