Where Are My Shoes?

As I become acquainted with this new blog site, I’m going to be posting a few of my previous short essays from other forums. If you’ve been reading my stuff on facebook or blogspot, stay tuned. New stuff will be added intermittently. If I snag any newbies, well, alright! FYI, I plan to close my account on blogspot, most likely by the first of next week. Here’s one of my faves:

Honestly, what are we doing?

It seems that I’ve been sitting in a church service for most of my life, from the Dalewood Baptist Church right on up to the Summit, Canyon. I can’t say that I’ve seen it all, but I’ve definitely seen it most. There’s always a group of good people, well meaning and sincere. There’s always an order of service that everyone observes and respects. And there are rules, Heaven help us, and plenty of them. I don’t know who came up with all of these rules, but I’m fairly certain that Jesus wasn’t in on that meeting. No, I’m pretty sure we came up with most of them all by ourselves.
Church has become a bit like public school. No running in the halls and no talking. We get up early to get there, and we can’t wait until it’s over. We look for any excuse to play hookie. Some show up but sit around in the lobby skipping class. About half of us are tardy on a regular basis. We get lured in with a decent musical program, we shove our kids off on someone we don’t even know, and then we all sit down, face front, hands in our laps to get a good talking to. Why? I think it’s because most of us are under the impression that we’ve all been so bad, we’ve got it coming. God is looking down from His throne, shaking His head and rolling His eyes, wondering how much more of our pathetic Fail He can take. Are you squirming yet? Did I make you mad? Good. It’s a start.
I don’t have it all figured out, and I’m not blaming anyone. I’m just as much at fault as the next guy. I let this happen. We all let this happen. We want so much to be comfortable and we want everyone else to be comfortable, too. The problem is, once everything is comfortable, nobody wants to come anymore. I’m wondering if we’ve been overly focused on the wrong things. No, comfort and convenience is for a shopping mall or a dentist office. When we go to church it should be more like coming home. When home is like it should be, nobody has to make you go there. It’s a place of rest, safety and love. No one has to watch your kids or entertain you. Sometimes you do get a good talking to, but it’s rare. Most of the time you’re laughing and crying together. You share your victories and your defeats. You rest and recharge around people who love and encourage you so that you can go back out there and face it. Sometimes you disagree, sometimes you don’t get along, but you’re always forgiven because they’re your family. I don’t have to beg my family for money. All I have is theirs and God provides everything we need. We usually share just about everything.
It’s time to take a look at what we’ve been doing. We have to, because what we’ve been doing just isn’t working anymore. The world is getting smaller and the times are getting meaner. We don’t need a school and we don’t want a show. We just want to go home.

Leave a Reply

